Build Day #71

IMG_3627Repaired floor in the first floor hallway.

allandaleroadec1962After I uploaded my last post I found a picture of Allandale Road from 1962. You can see Hampshires bakery on the left. IMG_2797 - 2013-06-11 at 17-49-34The shop is now Brown’s Tea Rooms – where Mark and I had afternoon tea today! (I took this photo last year, when Browns was called Lockwoods – the shop with the pale green front).  The next business along is Anatolia, the Turkish restaurant. Interestingly, the following building along appeared to be a private home in the 1962 photo. Today the bay window, door and garden are gone and it is the shop where I bought our bathroom tiles (now called Pasha Design).

IMG_3622Just for reference, here is the Hampshires paper bag found under the floorboards today – electrician’s lunch 1960 is my guess.

 

2 thoughts on “Build Day #71

Leave a Reply

