Build Day #100

Well, we have reached 100 days of building!

2014-06-03 09.38.44First, Miss Rose and her adventures. Archive shot here – the top floor dormer window. A the carpenter was building the internal frame for the new window the other day when he left them open. Each day at the end of work I thoroughly check the house for open windows, doors, or any potential danger to the cats. I think that because this work was done in the ‘safe’ area for the cats on the top floor I wasn’t as vigilant as I should have been, plus I was focused on how we could re-hang the curtains to notice that the windows were open wider than usual.

IMG_4795Another archive shot. Rosie decided to explore the outdoors through that top window. My guess is that she lost her footing on the steep roof tiles and fell to the ground. It was only when I was closing the windows on the dining room ground floor that I spotted a shocked Rosie outside the doors. She was very unhappy and bleated at me through the glass. She is an indoor cat and has never, ever, been outside. She was very happy to come back in.

IMG_4895The view before she must have fallen. They don’t call them cat-slide roofs for nothing.

Photo on 12-09-2014 at 08.10Miss Rose with her grazed chin – luckily this was the only injury she sustained in her fall.

IMG_4278

On Day 100 the Great Wall was dismantled, reuniting the top floor with the rest of the house.

IMG_1657The Great Wall on the day of construction.

 

IMG_4280Now removed – the view from the top floor. All three cats are in this picture if you look carefully.

IMG_2698 - 2013-06-11 at 17-12-00We also moved into the new kitchen. Before shot.

IMG_4285And after.

IMG_4291I have already baked bread and cakes and prepared more fried food that I care to admit (the burners on the top floor kitchenette cooker would always cut out if they got too hot!).

IMG_4300We have also moved the cats down into their new room.

IMG_4304Cat show ribbons and the dresser.

IMG_4305Oliver and Ruby’s ribbons are on the far left. The rest belong to Rose, including her Premier medal and ribbon from the Supreme Show (the cat version of Crufts).

IMG_4302Ruby on the relocated cat tree surveying her new domain.

IMG_0840How it looked before.

IMG_4310The view though the kitchen.

Screen Shot 2014-09-14 at 19.33.49A before and after shot of the breakfast room.

 

IMG_4313Externally, T the painter has almost finished. JB replaced the cast iron downpipe too.

IMG_4316You will also notice my colour choice for the front door – gloss black. I am very happy with it. It reinforces the Edwardian fascination with Tudor black and white architecture.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Build Day #100

  1. WooHoo! this is the post we have all been waiting for. What a superb achievement in every way.
    You must have been sick when your saw dear Rose outside in shock and I wish that damn window repair guy could fully understand what a serious fail he had.
    I can only imagine the intensity of TLC she has received since.
    Fried food? A longing now fully satisfied I hope (except for morning eggs).
    x x x esp to Miss Rose

  2. Wow…you’ve come such a long way in 100 days!!!! I like your cat ‘safe’ area, even though your cat did take a tumble. It’s a nice idea to have an outdoor area for them. Seeing it, I realized that I could to the same thing for my Paddy using the third floor playroom window to access the roof of the second floor balcony. We are headed into fall now, but it will be a good project for next spring.

  3. The thought of 100 days of renovation fills me with horror. I’m so impressed that you have weathered the tough days.
    As for the before and after pictures… those French doors were inspired. I love how it all looks now.
    I think I can see all the cats in that picture.

Leave a Reply

