Stage 2, Day 24

IMG_2233First, I know that some of you have been missing the cats. Oliver and Ruby in their dungeon ie. the master bedroom, during today’s work. Look at them suffering on the mink throw and looking daggers at me.

IMG_2236Rose on the damask attending to her toilette. I even had the QVC shopping channel on for her.

IMG_2210This morning A and D turned their attention to the front garden. They began by digging up a lot of the crazy paving.

IMG_2214Then there were massive tree roots to unearth.

IMG_2227That looks like an enormous tree branch but it is, in fact, a root.

IMG_2228All cleared and leveled. Next the hardcore base was laid and compacted but I don’t have a picture of that.

IMG_2272And then the paving stones were laid.

IMG_2267We finally have a front path! We have to wait for the cement to dry before we can use it though. The path and front garden will vastly improve the street-appeal of the house.

IMG_2270J the tiler grouted the utility room. I can’t get enough of those tiles.

IMG_2269Just look at that edge where it meets the quarry tiles.

IMG_2280He also finished grouting the bottom section of the shower walls in the top floor bathroom.

IMG_2271And repaired the section of loose grout in the kitchen’s original quarry floor for me.

IMG_2206Finally he tiled the hearth of the open chimney breast in the dining room. Before.

IMG_2238And after: it really completes the room. J the tiler said they look like they have always been there. Most of the other fireplaces in the house have inset gloss tiles in red or green which is why I was drawn to these.

IMG_0876Here was Oliver a year and a half ago helping to uncover the fireplace tiles in my study. The original tiles as you can see are smaller but it is the same effect.

IMG_4491And the green tiles in the bedroom when I revealed that fireplace.

While we are talking about the dining room, you can see some before and after shots here.

IMG_2208B the electrician was also here today. Switch plate before (sitting too proud of the plaster).

IMG_2211And after. Hardly any damage done.

IMG_2209Wire for the unnecessary extractor fan before.

IMG_2212And now gone.

IMG_2222Old ugly pull cords in the top floor bathroom.

IMG_2241Decommissioned.

IMG_2279Replaced by a discreet switch for the shower above the bathroom door.

IMG_2282And a new switch for the light just outside, which is a legal requirement if you want to have bathroom light switches.

IMG_2276The new bathroom light was fitted but unfortunately the glass shade was cracked, so I have ordered a replacement.

IMG_2223Utilitarian light and pull cord in the kitchenette in Mark’s study decommissioned. The main light in that room will be enough, plus we will no longer be cooking in this room.

IMG_2224New light fitting for Mark’s study.

IMG_2283With its New York Tiffany shade.

IMG_2275New light fitting for the top floor landing. And new smoke detector.

IMG_2273The trunking on the landing was also neatened-up.

IMG_2217New light fitting for the servant stairs landing. It’s the same fisherman’s light that I have in the breakfast room and I will have a matching wall light in the utility room. It’s my attempt to keep the ‘story’ of the old servant areas of the house consistent by using more austere lights in those areas.

IMG_2218Ready for the new light shade in the guest room. This will be a non-austere room, however.

IMG_2265While B the electrician was on a break, I couldn’t help but utilise his ladder to have a look in the loft. I managed to get my head and shoulders through that hatch.

IMG_2254It’s a huge space up there, at least six feet high from the rafters to the apex with no cross beams. Lots of old insulation piled up everywhere though. I think I’d like to get one of those fold-down ladders to gain access to this space as it would be great for storage. I’m sure we could even do a loft-conversion and turn it into an extra bedroom but we don’t really need a fourth floor or another bedroom. I’m tempted to explore the possibilities one day though.

IMG_2258There’s also a redundant water expansion tank up here for the old heating system. I’m glad it’s a modern plastic one rather than an old asbestos example.

IMG_2240The plaster work around the guest bedroom window was also patched up. I had a couple of windows measured for blinds today, including this one. I also confirmed the carpet order for this room. My nine week guest room challenge is running on schedule. Tomorrow the decorators arrive!

10 thoughts on “Stage 2, Day 24

  1. I Love the window cuteness and the vista of other rooftops and of course the cats, won’t someone think of the poor neglected cats?
    My 15-y-o survived a 3-hour drive across wintery western victoria yesterday and is now on a bed in front of a roaring woodfire. The plumber says he will be back in spring to put on a new roof. I won’t be blogging that.
    Bravo ‘on schedule’ and for the success of your complementary style vision [esp light fittings] now pulled together, even my hero Mr Nicky Haslam would bow to you.

  2. Looking forward to the carpet in the guest room. I haven’t lived with carpet for 18 years, since we bought our current house and went all floorboardsy.
    just wondering… why on earth can’t you have a light switch IN the bathroom? It’s not as if you can electrocute yourself. And does that mean there’s no power outlets? If so, where do people dry their hair?

  3. Those poor cats living in the lap of luxury. They are gorgeous.

    The green tiles are perfect, they should have been put in there when the house was built.

    It took a long time before I was happy using the light switches in the bathroom here, I kept wanting the cord to protect me! With only one bathroom in the house, you didn’t want anyone drying their hair in there. I guess we never thought about it because it wasn’t possible.

    That switch above the doorway is hardly discreet!

    The window on the landing doesn’t look very energy efficient, does it get very cold in the winter?

    A blog I read complained that in France you now have to have a smoke detector. My reaction to that was to ask for one in my sewing room – it seems to me that I spend most time in their so it would be safer for me. I can’t imagine living without one.

    • That switch is an improvement on the old cord, so I’m happy with that. I think it’s as good as it is going to get.
      I don’t think the Edwardians built with energy efficiency in mind. We might get secondary glazing put on it at some point but it’s the back stairs so it doen’t really matter.

Leave a Reply

