Here we go again…

Over the last couple of weekends Mark and I have been assembling Ikea bookshelves for his study. Photos to follow once they are all complete.

IMG_7013This afternoon I ‘decanted’ the lounge room ready for tomorrow.

IMG_7010

I have lost count of how many times I have done this.

IMG_7016

Everything is crammed into the dining room.

IMG_7015

Tomorrow this fireplace is coming out. It will be replaced with a gas, coal-effect fire. I love a fireplace but there is no way I have the discipline for a wood fire – all that chopping of wood, sweeping of ashes, the soot, dust and chimney maintenance. My fire will have a remote control and will look a darn sight better than the current fireplace. It has the most depressing looking 1930s mottled tiles.

IMG_7018We will keep the original mantelpiece though. It’s made of boxwood, or perhaps teak, with these beautiful carvings of pomegranate trees.

IMG_7017The pillars have leaves at the top.

IMG_7019I am not sure if the servants bell will survive the removal of the old fireplace but I hope it does.

IMG_7009Once the fireplace is finished there will need to be a bit of repair work and decorating. Also you can see that in the far corner we have yet to redecorate where the damproofing was done.

Then it will be time for some carpet!

 

Leave a Reply

